5 Ways to Develop a Fitness Routine

Salutations, readers!

As promised, here is my follow up post on exercising!  I hope the following tips help you in your fitness goals.  As always, feel free to email or comment with questions! 

1. Invest in well-made, comfortable clothing.

When I first started running, I hated how much my feet hurt and how chaffed my inner thighs would be at the end of working out.  I had no idea I could’ve avoided both of those things if I had invested in good shoes and clothing!  For instance, I run in capris to prevent chaffing.  While Capris can be very expensive at stores like Nike or Adidas, you can actually find well-made and affordable ones at stores like Academy.  Price wise, shoes are a little bit different.  I recommend splurging on a good pair of Brooks or Saucony as they’ll offer more support and last longer than your typical shoes from Nike, Adidas, or Foot Locker.

2. Find a good place to work out.

Do you prefer being outside or inside?  While I prefer exercising outside, my sister prefers the gym. Do what works for you and sign up for a gym membership, find a pretty park or lake nearby, etc. 

3. Sign up for an event.

If I don’t have a deadline in front of my face, I’m lost.  Signing up for an event, big or small, will serve as a reminder and motivator to stick to your routine.  It doesn’t have to be an overwhelming ordeal.  Start small and then work your way up.  For instance, I signed up for a 5k two years ago and just ran my first marathon this January.  I merely increased the distance of each race I signed up for; first the 5k, then a 10k, a 1/2 marathon, and now a whole.   

4. Use an online training schedule.

It’s really hard to know how much to train for an event since you don’t want to over exert yourself or train the wrong way.  It’s really easy to find training plans online by just using Google.  For those of you interested in running, Runners World is my favorite site for training plans. http://www.runnersworld.com

5. Integrate music or light reading.

When I run, I love switching around my music.  By using different sources, (my iTunes Library, iTunes Radio, or Pandora) I can keep my beats fresh and fun!  When I cross train, I like to read books when I bike or use the elliptical in the gym.

~Shellie

Leave a Reply

